VoodooPad 6 Preview 2

John's Avatar

John

25 Mar, 2020 12:39 AM

VoodooPad 6 Preview 2 is available for download:

https://voodoopad.s3.amazonaws.com/VoodooPad-6.0.0-Preview2.zip

What's New?

  • Add the Alias and Backlinks panels to the Information sidebar.
  • Add a context menu to the Pages sidebar.
  • Increase the default text inset from 0 to 5.
  • Fix several issues with Dark Mode.
  • Fix an issue where the current page may not be selected in the Pages sidebar.
  • Fix an issue where showing or hiding the sidebars could cause the window to resize in unexpected ways.
  • Fix an issue where the Pages or Information sidebar could obscure the current page.
  • Fix an issue where buttons may not appear on "Remove Formatting" alert panel.
  • Fix a crash that could occur when using "Export as Files" on a document with plain text pages.

Let me know if you have any comments or questions regarding this release.

  1. 1 Posted by jetsgaudin on 25 Mar, 2020 10:51 AM

    jetsgaudin's Avatar

    I had hoped that this version would fix the “Web export” function. I find it very useful to be able to archive a document by a web export so that it can be read by Safari exactly as it is in VoodooPad.
    Unfortunately since VDP 6 this is not possible. The document is exported and the files are indexed but opening the individual pages strips them of their links and looses the page formatting. In addition the home or index page looses its formatting.

    Luckely the VDP 6 documents can still be read and exported correctly by VDP 5.3 but this is not a very satisfactory solution.

  2. 2 Posted by scf.acc on 26 Mar, 2020 02:45 AM

    scf.acc's Avatar

    Good to see a VP6p2 release - Thank you!!!

    I also noticed the "Web export" function flattened the output and stripped all the links. Didn't render correctly. If needed I can probably send an example .html file, but I expect it will reproduce pretty easily. I'm on macOS 10.14.6 BTW.

  3. 3 Posted by Jeffrey on 27 Mar, 2020 02:25 AM

    Jeffrey's Avatar

    First impressions.

    I like the old Pages drawer better. Just nicer experience. Could you please allow the divider on the left side to be dragged all the way in to the far left of the main window? At present it does not appear that the drawer width is resizable at all. I can get the width tool to appear but it doesn't drag in either direction. Page Drawer also defaults to far too wide. Should default to size of longest page name + a few picas and be resizable down to a slim nothing. The way that Atlassian does it with Jira side panels or Adobe Acrobat.

    When clicking on pages in the Pages Drawer, there is a LONG delay. Even if it takes a second to launch, would be nice to provide some feedback that the page is going to open in a second (or two ... or three). Better than visual feedback would be to open pages faster, but that's probably as much a function of the system as anything and somewhat out of your control. Still that code surely could be optimized to speed up when one clicks on a page in the drawer to when it opens in an adjacent tab.

    Are the Pages and Info drawers locked to left and right? How about a preference to swap them or even better open either on the left if nothing else is open there, and then the second one opens on the right or vice versa? The old Pages drawer was very obvious about which side it would open on and I could force it to do my bidding.

    The Type Palette is a small improvement. I will play around with it some more to see how it is under stress. The Spacing palette is still a big chore and not really any improvement at all, except you have seven options in the Spacing palette and one of those (maybe 2?) make it into the Type palette. Why cannot the Spacing palette be either free floating like the Type Palette or in a Drawer like Info/Pages? Why doesn't the Spacing palette have a keycode shortcut option?

    Speaking of shortcuts, how about a formatting shortcut, cmd-Y that duplicates what is done in Word -- redo previous action. Would be a huge timesaver.

    Personally, what I would really like to see is both Type and Spacing not as a floating palette but as drawers similar to how Pages and Info get placed. I guess you'd need some user-defined logic what the rank of the open drawers would be if I had both Pages and Info open and wanted to open Text or Spaces, but this is such an edge case. I typically only want one drawer open at a time. My two cents is put any of the palettes in the drawer position. Simple rule would be the user defines which side a given palette will land. If something is already open on that side it gets pre-empted. I just think those drawer positions are under utilized and easy to open and close and a palette like spacing is exactly the opposite.

  4. 4 Posted by Jeffrey on 27 Mar, 2020 02:39 AM

    Jeffrey's Avatar

    One little bug that is easy to duplicate. Open the Info drawer. Leave it open. Open the Pages drawer. It bumps the far right edge of the main window over to the left. Doesn't matter which order you open the two drawers in. Closing them does not reduce the window size. Once they are both open I cannot make the window any smaller width-wise. If I close one of the drawers, it goes back to allowing a window resize.

    I happen to position VP on the far right side of the left monitor of a 2 monitor setup, so it is really obvious when this happens. I would think you should obey the user's specified window size and not expand the window beyond that boundary. Wouldn't be surprised if this is even specified in Apple's HIG.

  5. 5 Posted by Jeffrey on 27 Mar, 2020 03:05 AM

    Jeffrey's Avatar

    Also my previous comment about the long time for links opening in tabs from the Pages drawer is equally true for links in the document to other pages. Pages opening in tabs take too long to load. Compare side by side VP5 and VP6. It is at least 2x as long to open a page in 6.

    Another bug. This time a crash of VP. Snippet from the problem report that I did not send to Apple. I am sure I could duplicate it. I am going to go back to 5 now, until 6 is more stable.

    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
    Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000623022bfbec0
    Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

    Termination Signal: Segmentation fault: 11
    Termination Reason: Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0xb
    Terminating Process: exc handler [0]

    VM Regions Near 0x623022bfbec0:
        MALLOC_NANO 0000604000000000-0000604003400000 [ 52.0M] rw-/rwx SM=PRV
    -->
        STACK GUARD 0000700001db5000-0000700001db6000 [ 4K] ---/rwx SM=NUL stack guard for thread 3

  6. 6 Posted by Jeffrey on 27 Mar, 2020 03:07 AM

    Jeffrey's Avatar

    I should have added the crashed thread details. You might be able to use this.

    Thread 18 Crashed:
    0 libobjc.A.dylib 0x00007fff54f6be9d objc_msgSend + 29
    1 com.apple.UIFoundation 0x00007fff518e4d55 +[NSStringDrawingTextStorageSettings threadSpecificStringDrawingTextStorageSettings:] + 60
    2 com.apple.UIFoundation 0x00007fff518e4e2b +[NSString(NSStringDrawing) setTypesetterBehavior:] + 72
    3 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff2baa7d7a -[NSView(NSInternal) _recursive:displayRectIgnoringOpacity:inGraphicsContext:shouldChangeFontReferenceColor:] + 480
    4 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff2baa7b94 -[NSView(NSInternal) _recursive:displayRectIgnoringOpacity:inContext:shouldChangeFontReferenceColor:] + 56
    5 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff2b339074 __46-[NSView(NSLayerKitGlue) drawLayer:inContext:]_block_invoke + 289
    6 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff2b338c08 -[NSView(NSLayerKitGlue) _drawViewBackingLayer:inContext:drawingHandler:] + 1577
    7 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff2b3385d9 -[NSView(NSLayerKitGlue) drawLayer:inContext:] + 77
    8 com.apple.QuartzCore 0x00007fff38fde882 -[CALayer _display] + 1166
    9 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff2b33759e _NSBackingLayerDisplay + 556
    10 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff2b32c409 -[_NSViewBackingLayer display] + 242
    11 com.apple.QuartzCore 0x00007fff38fcfe29 CA::Layer::display_if_needed(CA::Transaction*) + 633
    12 com.apple.QuartzCore 0x00007fff38fcf8e7 CA::Layer::layout_and_display_if_needed(CA::Transaction*) + 35
    13 com.apple.QuartzCore 0x00007fff38fce8d8 CA::Context::commit_transaction(CA::Transaction*) + 326
    14 com.apple.QuartzCore 0x00007fff38fce475 CA::Transaction::commit() + 487
    15 com.apple.QuartzCore 0x00007fff38fe5585 CA::Transaction::release_thread(void*) + 209
    16 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff55eb11aa _pthread_tsd_cleanup + 534
    17 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff55eb0ee9 _pthread_exit + 79
    18 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff55eaf24b _pthread_wqthread + 1613
    19 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff55eaebe9 start_wqthread + 13

  7. Support Staff 7 Posted by John on 29 Mar, 2020 05:42 AM

    John's Avatar

    We'll look at what's going on with Web Export. I'll be in touch if we need any additional information to reproduce the issue.

    We'll also look at what's going on with the delay in opening pages from the Pages sidebar. Opening Pages should be something that happens quickly, and I'm disappointed to hear that it's not.

  8. 8 Posted by Darin on 31 Mar, 2020 04:54 PM

    Darin's Avatar

    Another request for being able to change the size of the Pages drawer. It's huge (my page names tend to be really short, so I don't need a large drawer. And I should be able to resize it as needed.

  9. 9 Posted by Alexander on 06 May, 2020 04:32 PM

    Alexander's Avatar

    Hi, folks!
    There are no pictures after web export...

  10. 10 Posted by Kent Sandvik on 10 Jun, 2020 05:50 PM

    Kent Sandvik's Avatar

    Is there a new preview available? Saw some odd formatting issues in RTF editing and would rather like to test a newer version before reporting? Thx.

  11. Support Staff 11 Posted by John on 10 Jun, 2020 10:03 PM

    John's Avatar

    A new preview should be available in the next couple of weeks. It doesn't make any changes to RTF editing, though, so chances are the issue will be present in both Preview 2 and Preview 3.

  12. 12 Posted by Kent Sandvik on 10 Jun, 2020 11:38 PM

    Kent Sandvik's Avatar

    OK thx for the info. Yes
    a) bold and style text is not preserved/saved in RTF.
    b) Non-roman UTF-8 code copied/pasted in Markdown files are not rendered (email me if you need a sample).

  13. 13 Posted by Nathan Galt on 05 Jul, 2020 10:14 PM

    Nathan Galt's Avatar

    So happy to see that VP is demonstrably alive and kicking. I can't wait to recommend VP to other people without any reservations.

    One thing I noticed in VP6p2: Markdown-formatted pages only change their theme on (at the very least) app restart, even though the window chrome changes immediately. I change my preferred color scheme fairly frequently with an Alfred-triggered system-appearance-toggling Automator app, so I noticed this somewhat quickly.

    Attached is what the app looks like when I've started VP up in dark mode and transitioned to light mode while running it.

    (No, I don't have any idea why the rest of the "Barracks" line is in black. Ditto for why the "Fountain of Yoof" line is all-gray. Blame the em dashes?)

    Currently running Catalina, 10.15.6 Beta (19G60d).

  14. 14 Posted by Bernd Schiffer on 15 Jul, 2020 07:01 AM

    Bernd Schiffer's Avatar

    Thanks for working in VP6!

    Dark mode has issues (see screenshot). Black text (only some paragraphs) on a dark background on markup pages — can't work like that. Is it me somehow causing the black text?

  15. 15 Posted by Heath Rezabek on 24 Jul, 2020 01:23 PM

    Heath Rezabek's Avatar

    I just wanted to pop in and post a note of thanks and support for working away on VoodooPad! I've been thinking a lot (a LOT) about software over time, and the risk of losing unique work forever in the crush of forward momentum (especially with Apple gear, my muse and my frustration). I'm currently trying to get El Capitan onto a modded 2014 Mac mini, then to migrate work from a beloved still-chugging-along 2012 MacBook Pro, and even there encountering troubles. Meanwhile trying to get a stable Mojave setup to hang onto for years to come.

    But I know VoodooPad will be there, in some form or another, and with VP docs going all the way back to 2005 or so, that means a lot to me. (I've updated along the way, but still.) Data longevity doesn't matter to everyone, but I appreciate very much that this unique app has landed somewhere where it does.

    Thanks! -h

  16. 16 Posted by TheK on 05 Jan, 2021 02:29 AM

    TheK's Avatar

    I'm playing around with the preview 2 of v6 and I thought it would be nice to display images in Markdown mode inline (kinda like the markdown editor Typora does). Ideally the display size should not always be native, but a thumbnail.

  17. 17 Posted by TheK on 05 Jan, 2021 04:41 PM

    TheK's Avatar

    Here's what I found. It crashes every few seconds on Big Sur.
    In Markdown mode, any link / page name containing non ASCII characters will break the link (it'll be impossible to link to a page that has characters like äöü in the name.

  18. Support Staff 18 Posted by John on 06 Jan, 2021 09:18 PM

    John's Avatar

    I haven't been able to reproduce the crashes on Big Sur. What Mac are you using? Is it an Intel-based Mac or an Apple Silicon Mac?

  19. 19 Posted by amnesic on 06 Jan, 2021 09:51 PM

    amnesic's Avatar

    Hello,
    Here with Big Sur (v11.1) on my MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2016) the VoodooPad
    V.6.0.0 (6538) crash randomly very quickly now.

    often enough to no longer be able to use it unfortunately :-(
    So I am looking for an alternative but after testing Evernote, DEVONthink, Notes... I find them less clear and efficient for my use than VoodooPad.

    I have not yet tested Notion that I was advised, someone here would have made the transition? is there an import between the 2 possible?

    Thanks,
    loïc
    ps : here is an example of a crash log in case it could be useful to the developer

  20. 20 Posted by TheK on 07 Jan, 2021 04:36 PM

    TheK's Avatar

    I'm on macOS Big Sur 11.1 (20C69)

    My Mac is a MacBook Pro 16" (2019), with the Radeon 5500M, and also an eGPU (Razer Core X with a Radeon RX Vega 64 8GB).

    I can't attach any crash reports, because when VoodooPad crashes it just goes down, no error, no crash window/report.

  21. 21 Posted by Iyon on 16 Jan, 2021 08:34 PM

    Iyon's Avatar

    Excellent, a new version of voodoo pad !!!
    It is one of my favourite applications of all time on the Mac, I am glad you keep the updates coming ;)

  22. 22 Posted by Rajiv on 26 Jan, 2021 10:57 PM

    Rajiv's Avatar

    Posted the same question in the thread discussion for Preview 1....when is the expected release date and if we purchased the current version today, would it give us the license for V6. Thank!

  23. 23 Posted by amnesic on 03 Feb, 2021 06:58 PM

    amnesic's Avatar

    "Let me know if you have any comments or questions regarding this release."

    Unfortunately I encounter as many "Segmentation fault: 11" with this new "Preview" as mentioned the Jan 06, 2021.
     If it's useful I can provide you the crashlog.
    Tx

  24. Support Staff 24 Posted by John on 09 Feb, 2021 07:45 PM

    John's Avatar

    @Rajiv If you purchase VoodooPad 5 in 2020 or later you'll receive a complimentary upgrade to VoodooPad 6 once it's available.

  25. Support Staff 25 Posted by John on 09 Feb, 2021 07:47 PM

    John's Avatar

    @amnesic I'm assuming the crash you're experiencing is the same as everyone else. I'm not sure what the source of the crash is and we're having a heck of a time reproducing it ourselves, so there's no timeline for a fix.

  26. 26 Posted by amnesic on 10 Feb, 2021 03:00 AM

    amnesic's Avatar

    @John the frequent and reproducible crashes that I am confronted with have, as always, a common point in common:

    Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
    Exception Codes:       KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000352d171651d8
    Exception Note:        EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY
    
    Termination Signal:    Segmentation fault: 11
    Termination Reason:    Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0xb
    Terminating Process:   exc handler [8647]
    
    VM Regions Near 0x352d171651d8:
        CoreAnimation               183a59000-189220000    [ 87.8M] rw-/rwx SM=PRV  
    --> 
        MALLOC_NANO              600000000000-600008000000 [128.0M] rw-/rwx SM=PRV
    

    With the same backtrace of Crashed Thread :

    0   libobjc.A.dylib                  0x00007fff20235d1d objc_msgSend + 29
    1   com.apple.AppKit                0x00007fff22d8a22c NSViewSendViewWillDrawToSubviews + 149
    2   com.apple.AppKit                0x00007fff22d8a16e _NSViewWillDraw + 45
    3   com.apple.AppKit                0x00007fff22d89f0a -[_NSViewBackingLayer display] + 64
    4   com.apple.QuartzCore            0x00007fff26c4c4c8 CA::Layer::display_if_needed(CA::Transaction*) + 874
    5   com.apple.QuartzCore            0x00007fff26d8c5fb CA::Context::commit_transaction(CA::Transaction*, double, double*) + 517
    6   com.apple.QuartzCore            0x00007fff26c2de95 CA::Transaction::commit() + 783
    7   com.apple.QuartzCore            0x00007fff26c4a046 CA::Transaction::release_thread(void*) + 206
    8   libsystem_pthread.dylib         0x00007fff203979b8 _pthread_tsd_cleanup + 487
    9   libsystem_pthread.dylib         0x00007fff20399f99 _pthread_exit + 70
    10  libsystem_pthread.dylib         0x00007fff20397764 _pthread_wqthread_exit + 77
    11  libsystem_pthread.dylib         0x00007fff20396535 _pthread_wqthread + 470
    12  libsystem_pthread.dylib         0x00007fff20395467 start_wqthread + 15
    

    I'm a Mac developer too, so if you need help to find this bug, please contact me.

  27. Support Staff 27 Posted by John on 10 Feb, 2021 01:30 PM

    John's Avatar

    @amnesic Looks like the same crash. What Mac are you using, and are you always editing the same document when the crash happens? How consistently (and how frequently) does the crash happen?

  28. 28 Posted by amnesic on 10 Feb, 2021 02:06 PM

    amnesic's Avatar

    @john

    "and are you always editing the same document when the crash happens?"

    This bug is not document dependent. Even with a new document just created on this version I can reproduce the crash quickly.
    It's not also a problem of cache or preferences file that would be corrupted because I have the same problem starting from a new environment (Deleting different files of the application: Prefs, cache, container, application state ...).

    "How consistently (and how frequently) does the crash happen?"

    Reproducible in a few minutes and appears especially as soon as I use the "in new tab" mode. Using the application to quoditian is unfortunately no longer possible for me.

    This seems very similar to the problem encountered in the Quicksilver application:

    https://github.com/quicksilver/Quicksilver/issues/2548

    But since I don't have access to the VoodooPad source code, I can't help you anymore.

    "What Mac are you using"

    macOS Big Sur version 11.2.1 (20D74)
    MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2016)
    2,6 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
    Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB

  29. Support Staff 29 Posted by John on 13 Feb, 2021 07:51 AM

    John's Avatar

    If you're encountering crashes in VoodooPad 6 Preview 2 on Big Sur could you download this build and let me know if it fixes the crashes for you?

    https://www.voodoopad.com/download/VoodooPad-6.0.0.6555.zip

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac